Why did I receive a bill after I closed my AWS account?
2 minute read
I closed my AWS account, but I received another bill. I want to know why I received another bill.
When you close your AWS account, you must terminate all your resources, or you might continue to incur charges. The on-demand billing for your resources stops when you close your account.
However, you might receive a bill after you close your account due to one of the following reasons:
You incurred charges in the month before you closed your account: You receive a final bill for the usage incurred between the beginning of the month and the date that you closed your account. For example, if you closed your account on January 15th, then you receive a bill for usage incurred from January 1st through January 15th at the beginning of February.
You have active Reserved Instances on your account: You might have provisioned Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) Reserved Instances, Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS) Reserved Instances, Amazon Redshift Reserved Instances, or Amazon ElastiCache Reserved Cache Nodes. You continue to receive a bill for these resources until the reservation period expires. For more information, see Reserved Instances.
You signed up for Savings Plans: You continue to receive a bill for your compute usage covered under Savings Plans until the plan term is completed.