如何故障排除 Amazon Redshift 切换到逐一模式的问题?

1 分钟阅读
0

我想使用 AWS Database Migration Service(AWS DMS)任务将数据迁移到 Amazon Redshift。但是我的任务存在延迟或数据不一致问题,我看到一些日志条目,例如:“XXXXBulk apply operation failed.Trying to execute bulk statements in 'one-by-one' mode XXXXX”。

简述

Amazon Redshift 是一个在线分析处理(OLAP)数据仓库,出于资源消耗的原因,它不适合频繁的事务。默认情况下,AWS DMS 使用批量应用模式来批量处理更改。如果 Redshift 以逐一模式运行,则 DMS 任务不会对目标应用更改,从而导致数据不一致或延迟问题。当您使用批量应用模式时,AWS DMS 会执行以下操作:

  1. 批量应用设置控制的批次中收集更改。
  2. 创建净更改表,其中包含该批次中应用到目标实例的所有更改。
  3. 使用一种汇总事务并批量应用于目标的算法。

当将数据复制到 Amazon Redshift 的迁移任务无法应用某个批次时,AWS DMS 不会让整个批次都失败。AWS DMS 会分解该批次,并切换到逐一模式来应用事务。当 AWS DMS 遇到导致批次失败的事务时,它会将该事务记录到 Amazon Redshift 目标上的 awsdms_apply_exceptions 表中。然后,AWS DMS 逐一应用该批次中的其他事务,直到该批次中的所有事务都应用到目标。最后,AWS DMS 会将新批次切换回批量应用模式,并继续使用批量应用,直到遇到另一个批次失败。

解决方案

要查看您的批次是否失败并且 AWS DMS 是否使用了逐一模式,请查看 AWS DMS 任务日志。每次批次失败且 AWS DMS 切换到逐一模式时,您都会看到以下日志条目:

"[TARGET_APPLY ]I: Bulk apply operation failed.Trying to execute bulk statements in 'one-by-one' mode (bulk_apply.c:2175)"

发生这种情况时,AWS DMS 会按顺序将事务应用到目标,直到 AWS DMS 遇到批次中的任何事务出现问题。如果 AWS DMS 遇到问题,它会记录相关事务,您会看到类似于以下条目的日志条目:

"[TARGET_APPLY ]W: Source changes that would have had no impact were not applied to the target database.Refer to the 'awsdms_apply_exceptions' table for details. (endpointshell.c:5984)"

**注意:**除非您在 AWS DMS 任务设置中指定控制表架构,否则默认情况下,awsdms_apply_exceptions 表是在公共架构中创建的。

在 AWS DMS 记录相关事务后,它会将该批次中所有事务应用到目标。然后,AWS DMS 再次切换到批量应用。在您的日志中,您会看到一条类似于以下内容的消息:

"[TARGET_APPLY ]I: Switch back to bulk apply mode (bulk_apply.c:4751)"

您在在线事务处理(OLTP)数据库中运行的事务更改可能会影响 Amazon Redshift 的性能。当批量应用失败时,AWS DMS 会切换到逐一模式。在 AWS DMS 以逐一模式运行事务的时间内,目标延迟会增加。在 AWS DMS 切换回批量应用后,目标延迟会减少。

要解决此问题,请连接到 Amazon Redshift 目标。然后,运行以下命令从 awsdms_apply_exceptions 表中获取数据,以识别导致批次失败的查询:

select \* from public.awsdms\_apply\_exceptions order by 4 desc;

找到导致批次失败的查询后,请检查相关错误。解决此问题,使任务不会切换到逐一模式。

相关信息

Debugging your AWS DMS migrations: What to do when things go wrong

Using an Amazon Redshift database as a target for AWS Database Migration Service

AWS 官方
AWS 官方已更新 7 个月前

How can I troubleshoot why Amazon Redshift switched to one-by-one mode?

4 minute read
0

I want to use an AWS Database Migration Service (AWS DMS) task to migrate data to Amazon Redshift. But my task has latency or data inconsistency issues, and I see log entries such as, “XXXXBulk apply operation failed. Trying to execute bulk statements in 'one-by-one' mode XXXXX”.

Short description

Amazon Redshift is an online analytic processing (OLAP) data warehouse that isn't designed to take frequent transactions because of costs. By default, AWS DMS uses Batch Apply mode to process the changes in batches. If Redshift runs in one-by-one mode, then the DMS task didn't apply changes to the target and caused data inconsistency or latency issues. When you use Batch Apply mode, AWS DMS does the following:

  1. Collects changes from a batch that Batch Apply settings control.
  2. Creates a net changes table that contains all the changes from the batch to the target instance.
  3. Uses an algorithm that groups transactions and applies them in bulk to the target.

When a migration task that replicates data to Amazon Redshift can't apply a batch, AWS DMS doesn't fail the whole batch. AWS DMS breaks down the batch and switches to one-by-one mode to apply transactions. When AWS DMS encounters the transaction that caused the batch to fail, it logs the transaction to the awsdms_apply_exceptions table on the Amazon Redshift target. Then, AWS DMS applies the other transactions in the batch one by one until all transactions from that batch are applied onto the target. Finally, AWS DMS switches back to Batch Apply mode for a new batch and continues to use Batch Apply unless another batch fails.

Resolution

To see if your batch failed and AWS DMS used one-by-one mode, check the AWS DMS task log. Each time a batch fails and AWS DMS switches to one-by-one mode, you see the following log entry:

"[TARGET_APPLY ]I: Bulk apply operation failed. Trying to execute bulk statements in 'one-by-one' mode (bulk_apply.c:2175)"

When this happens, AWS DMS sequentially applies transactions onto the target until AWS DMS encounters an issue with any transaction in the batch. If AWS DMS encounters an issue, then it logs the transaction and you see a log entry similar to the following entry:

"[TARGET_APPLY ]W: Source changes that would have had no impact were not applied to the target database. Refer to the 'awsdms_apply_exceptions' table for details. (endpointshell.c:5984)"

Note: Unless you specify a control table schema in your AWS DMS task settings, the awsdms_apply_exceptions table is created in the public schema by default.

After AWS DMS logs the transaction, it completes the application of all the transactions from that batch. Then, AWS DMS switches to Batch Apply again. In your logs, you see a message similar to the following one:

"[TARGET_APPLY ]I: Switch back to bulk apply mode (bulk_apply.c:4751)"

Transactional changes that you run from an online transaction processing (OLTP) database can affect Amazon Redshift performance. When Batch Apply fails, AWS DMS switches to one-by-one mode. Target latency increases for the duration of the time that AWS DMS runs transactions in one-by-one mode. After AWS DMS switches back to Bulk Apply, the target latency reduces.

To resolve this issue, connect to the Amazon Redshift target. Then, run the following command to get the output from the awsdms_apply_exceptions table to identify the query that caused the batch to fail:

select \* from public.awsdms\_apply\_exceptions order by 4 desc;

After you find the query that caused the batch to fail, review the error. Resolve the issue so that tasks don't move to one-by-one mode.

Related information

Debugging your AWS DMS migrations: What to do when things go wrong

Using an Amazon Redshift database as a target for AWS Database Migration Service

AWS OFFICIAL
AWS OFFICIALUpdated 4 months ago