为什么我的 Amazon RDS 数据库实例长时间处于存储优化状态?

1 分钟阅读
0

我更新了 Amazon Relational Database(Amazon RDS)数据库实例的存储大小。但该过程需要很长时间,并且实例处于存储优化状态。

解决方法

当您修改 Amazon RDS 数据库实例的存储大小时,该实例的状态会更改为存储优化。这会修改数据库实例,以更改存储大小或类型。存储优化过程由 RDS 自动化执行。RDS 自动化确认修改存储后,数据已平均分配到 Amazon Elastic Block Store(Amazon EBS)卷。

大多数情况下,扩展存储不会导致数据库实例中断或性能下降。但此操作可能需要几个小时。在 6 小时内或直到实例的存储优化完成前,都无法进行进一步存储修改,以时间较长者为准。但可以执行任何其他实例修改,例如扩展实例大小或重启。

通常,存储优化会在几个小时内完成,但有时可能需要长达或超过 24 小时。当数据库实例处于存储优化状态时,该实例会正常运行。您的应用程序可用性不受影响。您不必等待数据库实例处于可用状态,即可运行应用程序。

**注意:**没有办法加快这一进程。您必须等待优化过程完成。存储大小增加和存储使用量越大,此过程会花费更长时间。由于这是自动化过程,因此没有固定的方法可以确定在 RDS 数据库实例上完成存储优化需多长时间。

对于集群卷,Amazon Aurora 使用不由 EBS 卷支持的自定义存储解决方案。因此,您无需考虑对 Aurora 实例进行存储优化。有关详细信息,请参阅 Aurora 存储引擎简介

注意:任何类型的存储修改都可能导致数据库实例进入存储优化状态。但修改存储也可能导致实例重启,并需要停机。这是特定情况下的要求,例如在 SSD 和磁性介质之间更改存储类型。有关详细信息,请参阅数据库实例设置

要监控数据库实例的可用存储量,最佳做法是创建 Amazon CloudWatch 警报

相关信息

管理 Amazon RDS 数据库实例

AWS 官方
AWS 官方已更新 10 个月前

Why is my Amazon RDS DB instance in the storage-optimization state for a long time?

3 minute read
0

I updated the storage size of my Amazon Relational Database (Amazon RDS) DB instance. But, the process is taking a long time, and the instance is in the storage-optimization state.

Resolution

When you modify the storage size of your Amazon RDS DB instance, the status of the instance changes to storage optimization. This modifies your DB instance to change the storage size or type. The storage optimization process is performed by RDS automation. RDS automation confirms that the data is evenly distributed to the Amazon Elastic Block Store (Amazon EBS) volumes after storage modification.

In most cases, scaling storage doesn't cause an outage or performance degradation of the DB instance. However, this operation might take several hours. You can't make further storage modifications for either 6 hours or until storage optimization completes on the instance, whichever is longer. But, you can perform any other instance modifications, such as instance size scaling or rebooting.

Typically, the storage optimization completes in a few hours, but can sometimes take up to or more than 24 hours. When the DB instance is in the storage-optimization state, the instance is operational. Your application availability isn't affected. You don't have to wait for the DB instance to be in the available state to run your applications.

Note: There's no way to speed up this process. You must wait for the optimization process to complete. The process takes longer for larger storage size increases and storage usage. Because this is an automated process, there's no fixed way to determine how long it takes to complete storage optimization on your RDS DB instance.

For a cluster volume, Amazon Aurora uses a custom storage solution that isn't backed by EBS volumes. Therefore, you don't need to consider storage optimization for Aurora instances. For more information, see Introducing the Aurora storage engine.

Note: Any type of storage modification might result in the DB instance moving to the storage-optimization state. However, modifying the storage might also cause the instance to restart and require downtime. This is a requirement in specific cases, such as changing the storage type between SSD and magnetic. For more information, see Settings for DB instances.

To monitor the amount of free storage for your DB instance, it's a best practice to create an Amazon CloudWatch alarm.

Related information

Managing an Amazon RDS DB instance

AWS OFFICIAL
AWS OFFICIALUpdated 10 months ago
1 Comment

Two things to note:

  1. storage optimization does not necessary occur during maintenance window.
  2. AWS Backup job will fail if the instance state is in storage-optimization state.
Reza
replied 3 months ago