- Newest
- Most votes
- Most comments
We have the following APIs to first delete the workgroup and then the namespace.
- https://docs.aws.amazon.com/cli/latest/reference/redshift-serverless/delete-workgroup.html
- https://docs.aws.amazon.com/cli/latest/reference/redshift-serverless/delete-namespace.html
Alternatively, you can log in to the AWS console and perform the delete operations. https://docs.aws.amazon.com/redshift/latest/mgmt/serverless_delete-workgroup.htm
To delete a serverless workgroup in Amazon Redshift, you can use the Amazon Redshift Serverless console by following these steps: Select Amazon Redshift Serverless Select Workgroup configuration Select Delete Amazon Redshift Serverless instance In the dialogue box, type delete and select Delete to confirm
Before deleting a workgroup, it is recommended to back up the data and create snapshots. Once deleted, resources associated with the workgroup are usually not recoverable.
If a namespace is associated with a workgroup, the workgroup must be deleted before the namespace can be deleted. To delete a namespace, you can: Select Namespace configuration from the left menu Select the namespace to delete from the list Select Actions and then Delete namespace In the dialogue box, type delete and select Delete to confirm
answered 2 years ago
Hi,
AWS CLI would allow more functionality especially with the new functionality, Console would normally get updated in some time.
Could you please try the following AWS CLI commands
- Run describe-clusters
aws redshift describe-clusters
{
"Clusters": []
}
- Delete the cluster with the cluster-identifier from Step No 1. Make sure to pass --skip-final-cluster-snapshot | --no-skip-final-cluster-snapshot as you may not want a snapshot lying around.
aws redshift delete-cluster --cluster-identifier <value>
delete-cluster
--cluster-identifier <value>
[--skip-final-cluster-snapshot | --no-skip-final-cluster-snapshot]
[--final-cluster-snapshot-identifier <value>]
[--final-cluster-snapshot-retention-period <value>]
[--cli-input-json <value>]
[--generate-cli-skeleton <value>]
https://docs.aws.amazon.com/cli/latest/reference/redshift/delete-cluster.html#delete-cluster
Cheers
answered 5 years ago
Deleting a workgroup https://docs.aws.amazon.com/redshift/latest/mgmt/serverless_delete-workgroup.html You can delete a workgroup using the console. Before you do this, make sure that you have your data backed up and snapshots in place. Resources deleted as part of the workgroup in many cases can't be retrieved.
Complete the following steps:
Choose Amazon Redshift Serverless, choose Workgroup configuration and choose Delete Amazon Redshift Serverless instance.
A dialogue opens. When you choose to delete the workgroup, all usage limits are removed, all VPC endpoints are removed, and access to VPC endpoints is removed.
Type delete and select Delete to confirm.
After you complete the steps, the status of the workgroup is Deleting and a banner indicates that the workgroup is being deleted. While the delete process is in progress, some features under the Serverless dashboard are disabled. But you can configure provisioned clusters on the Provisioned clusters dashboard.
After you delete the workgroup, it doesn't appear with the namespace. You can choose the Create workgroup button to create a new one.
You can delete an existing workgroup and associate a new workgroup with a different configuration to the same namespace. When creating the new workgroup, choose the base capacity that works with the size of the data associated with the namespace.
answered 3 years ago
We have the following APIs to first delete the workgroup and then the namespace.
- https://docs.aws.amazon.com/cli/latest/reference/redshift-serverless/delete-workgroup.html
- https://docs.aws.amazon.com/cli/latest/reference/redshift-serverless/delete-namespace.html
Alternatively, you can log in to the AWS console and perform the delete operations. https://docs.aws.amazon.com/redshift/latest/mgmt/serverless_delete-workgroup.htm
To delete a serverless workgroup in Amazon Redshift, you can use the Amazon Redshift Serverless console by following these steps: Select Amazon Redshift Serverless Select Workgroup configuration Select Delete Amazon Redshift Serverless instance In the dialogue box, type delete and select Delete to confirm
Before deleting a workgroup, it is recommended to back up the data and create snapshots. Once deleted, resources associated with the workgroup are usually not recoverable.
If a namespace is associated with a workgroup, the workgroup must be deleted before the namespace can be deleted. To delete a namespace, you can: Select Namespace configuration from the left menu Select the namespace to delete from the list Select Actions and then Delete namespace In the dialogue box, type delete and select Delete to confirm
answered 2 years ago
Relevant content
asked 2 years ago
- AWS OFFICIALUpdated 3 years ago
- AWS OFFICIALUpdated a year ago

the answer is relative to the deletion of a provisioned cluster it is not valid for Redshift Serverless.