- Newest
- Most votes
- Most comments
Hi,
If you move the account that owns the Savings Plan out of the Organization, the Savings Plan will move out of the Organization as well. This means the cost as well as any benefits will attach to the new Organization that it joins or will stay with the account that owns it should it remain a standalone account instead. Check out more on this here: https://repost.aws/knowledge-center/savings-plans-consolidated-billing.
Savings Plans provide savings beyond On-Demand rates in exchange for a commitment of using a specified amount of compute power (measured per hour) for a one or three year period. Since it is a commitment, the account where the resource was purchased will need to complete the Savings Plan period to completion. Whether you utilize the discount or not, however, is up to your discretion.
— Nicola R.
Hi,
For a more detailed review, I suggest reaching out to our Account & Billing team directly via our Support Center. They'll have the visibility to assist you further.
- Sage A.
Relevant content
asked 3 years ago
asked 4 years ago
asked 2 years ago

Hi Nicola, thanks for the response.
Just to clarify—if the Savings Plan is owned by the management account, and a member account leaves the organization, then the Savings Plan benefits would no longer apply to that member account once it leaves. Is that correct?