By using AWS re:Post, you agree to the Terms of Use

Deleting User - Do files remain?

0

I need to delete a user from our system access. When I delete the user does all of their uploaded files remain in the system or do they delete too?

1 Answer
0

Hi, deleting a user from IAM will not undo or delete the user's past actions. You do not have to worry about previously uploaded files being deleted.

From AWS documentation, deleting a user removes

  • The user
  • Any user group memberships—that is, the user is removed from any IAM user groups that the user was a member of
  • Any password associated with the user
  • Any access keys belonging to the user
  • All inline policies embedded in the user (policies that are applied to a user via user group permissions are not affected)
  • Any associated MFA device

Documentation for reference: https://docs.aws.amazon.com/IAM/latest/UserGuide/id_users_manage.html#id_users_deleting

Hope it helps clarify your question :)

answered 4 months ago

You are not logged in. Log in to post an answer.

A good answer clearly answers the question and provides constructive feedback and encourages professional growth in the question asker.

Guidelines for Answering Questions