- Newest
- Most votes
- Most comments
To reset your AWS console and services to default, you'll need to take a few steps:
- First, identify and delete all existing resources to avoid ongoing charges:
- Go to the AWS Management Console
- Use the "Billing and Cost Management" console (search for "billing" in the top search bar)
- Check "Cost Explorer" to see which services are active
- Go to each service's console section and terminate/delete those resources
- Make sure to check all AWS regions for resources, as they might exist in different regions
- For resetting your console experience to default:
- Sign in to the AWS Management Console
- Click the gear icon (⚙) in the navigation bar
- Choose "See all user settings"
- Click "Reset all"
This will reset your Unified Settings, including favorite services, recently visited services, default language, default Region, and visual mode.
If you're still experiencing issues with specific services appearing unconfigured or if you can't delete certain resources, you may need to contact AWS Support for assistance with your specific account situation.
Sources
Cancelling all services | AWS re:Post
Deleting services | AWS re:Post
Amazon SES console has reverted to unconfigured | AWS re:Post
Resetting Unified Settings in the AWS Management Console - AWS Management Console
You can reset it by default. You need to go to individual services and delete what's not required. Sometimes, the resources can be linked, and therefore you cannot delete one without the other.
- Best check Cost Explorer, and identify all the resources costing money and then go to one by one and delete.
- If you have backups / snapshots, then also delete those as it will cost.
- If you lots of data in S3, then use lifecycle policy to empty the bucket.
Steps to remove resources you no longer need are at https://repost.aws/knowledge-center/terminate-resources-account-closure
There is also an open-source tool called AWS Nuke which does exactly as its name suggests https://aws-nuke.ekristen.dev/ (and on github https://github.com/ekristen/aws-nuke ).
Use AWS Nuke with extreme caution, as it is thoroughly destructive. Only consider using it if you are absolutely sure you don't want to retain anything in your account.
Relevant content
asked 4 years ago
asked 4 years ago

I think @SHAJAM meant to say "You can't reset it by default." which is correct. You need to delete un-needed/unused resources manually. There is no built-in wipe or clean-up.