Skip to content

CloudFront deployment issue when domain is tied to a deleted or locked AWS account

0

I'm currently trying to deploy a website using CloudFront with the domain salog.kro.kr. However, this domain was previously used in a different AWS account, which has since been requested for deletion and is now in a locked state.

My current deployment is not working properly, and I suspect it’s due to the domain still being associated with the CloudFront distribution in the locked account.

Does the domain being previously used in a now-deleted (but still locked) AWS account prevent it from being used in a new account? If so, what steps should I take to resolve this and proceed with the deployment?

2 Answers
0

Hello.

If you have access to the AWS account that contains the CloudFront to which the domain is linked, you can move it using an API or similar, but in your case, this is not possible because the AWS account is already closed.
Therefore, I think the only way to deal with this is to contact AWS support as described in the following document.
https://repost.aws/knowledge-center/resolve-cnamealreadyexists-error

If you don't have access to the account that contains the source distribution or you can't deactivate the source distribution, then contact AWS Support.

EXPERT

answered a year ago

EXPERT

reviewed a year ago

0

If it's been less than 90 days since the account containing the CloudFront distribution with the name you want to use elsewhere, and assuming it's an account you owned, you can ask AWS Support to reopen the account, then you can log on, detach any TLS certificates associated with the CloudFront distribution, and delete the distribution. Finally, close the account again. Note, however, that AWS will resume billing you for the contents of the account when it's reopened, so depending on its contents, there might be a cost impact.

As a general rule to avoid issues like this, you should delete unneeded resources in your account before closing it, particularly resources that involve claims in global namespaces, such as DNS names associated with CloudFront distributions, names of S3 buckets, and so on. Otherwise, the names will remain claimed after the account is closed, until AWS starts removing all resources 90 days after the account was closed.

EXPERT

answered a year ago

You are not logged in. Log in to post an answer.

A good answer clearly answers the question and provides constructive feedback and encourages professional growth in the question asker.