Skip to content

Delete DMS (Data Migration Service) logs

0

Today we've run into an issue with DMS, where after running successfully for weeks, we got this: https://repost.aws/knowledge-center/dms-replication-instance-storage-full

Our instance was out of space, and RDS started to accumulate logs. We were lucky to catch it in time. This is a VERY sharp edge.

What is truly confusing though, is that the explanation on how to deal with this is to update the task and set:

{
  "Logging": {
    "DeleteTaskLogs":true
  }
}

Then, unset it again.

I am in denial about this being truly the only way. Can someone confirm?

What happens to the log while it is set to true? Can we always keep it true? Will the logs still make it to CloudWatch?

This isn't very clear.

Resources:

1 Answer
0

Please note this just calls api to delete logs of the task and not saving it as task setting

AWS

answered 2 years ago

EXPERT

reviewed 2 years ago

  • Then why another call is needed to "unset" this if it is not "set" anywhere?

  • there is no need to call unset

You are not logged in. Log in to post an answer.

A good answer clearly answers the question and provides constructive feedback and encourages professional growth in the question asker.